Kickstart My Heart: Aminoacid Boy

This Wednesday, we’re excited to feature an intriguing and promising IndieGogo campaign:

Aminoacid Boy and the Chaos Order – Graphic Novel

This seven-chapter hand-painted book features art and writing from Diego Lazzarin, an animator based in Milan, Italy. The bizarre and visceral art contrasts the irreverently Judeochristian themes of this unique interplanetary narrative.

The Lord discovers that on planet Earth there are species whose individuals can find their own reasons for living, they have desires and will. They are able to feel pain and self-accomplishment. To Lord’s eyes this is something extraordinary and illogical. Amino is sent on Earth to understand the reason of this anomalous behavior.

To accomplish his mission, Amino has the power to assimilate the DNA from human and animal species he gets in contact with. His DNA evolves and becomes more and more similar to the one of those creatures. This way Amino should understand them better.

Unfortunately, Amino is not going to be alone on Earth. The Chaos Order will soon reach him.

In addition to the high-quality printed novel, rewards include buttons, temporary tattoos, and for those willing to spend a little extra, “an original full page illustration in acrylics and inks on 50% cotton paper.” This project runs until June 17, and rewards are expected to ship in August.

The creator of Aminoacid Boy has agreed to ship a special prize for backers identifying themselves as End of the Universe readers. Once you contribute, email aminoacidboy@gmail.com, and you will receive a free End of the Universe Sticker with your reward packet!

aminoacid boy

Q&A with Diego Lazzarin

Why did you choose crowdfunding for this project?

I choose crowdfunding ’cause this is my first graphic novel and I wanted to do the exact crazy thing I had in mind… being independent means almost no compromises, at least in terms of creativity.

Along the road, after I created my Tumblr blog, a few editors have contacted me. However, I decided to continue this adventure alone even if I had to carry some risks… I find the idea of managing the entire process, from beginning to the end, more attractive and convenient to my artwork.

Why should End of the Universe readers donate to your book?

Because the book is amazing!!!! Aminoacid Boy and the Chaos Order is a graphic novel I started more than three years ago. The book is made up of more than 500 hand painted drawings. By contributing to this campaign you will receive a 156 pages graphic novel with a unique style, very close to painting. The story develops throughout 7 chapters. An additional section contains full-page illustrations (the Chaos Order chapter). And the book is 100% done. As soon as I will receive the funds, the book will be sent to the printer. I’m already in contact with the printer of my favorite comic books in Italy, ’cause I want to have a quality print. This book will look good!!!

I’m sure that End of Universe readers are willing to find something original and non-mainstream. My graphic novel is surely unique in its kind.

What sets your book apart from all the other comics available on and off of Kickstarter?

I think my book is very different from the ones you can find on kickstarter or Indiegogo. As I said, this book is all hand painted whereas most of the comics are now computer coloured. My graphic novel has a style very close to painting. Moreover, I think the story is totally different… it’s a weird story, you will see a lot of creature, but it’s also very introspective and dreamish. Kind of philosophical.

If this part of the plan is successful (i.e. your Kickstarter reaches its goals, you produce your content, it’s received with wide acclaim, etc.), what’s next? How long-term is this?

Aminoacid Boy is a self-contained graphic novel with a beginning and an end.

After Aminoacid Boy I’m already thinking of an animated webcomic. My first creative works where animated short movies, I’m very used to make drawings move. Have a look at the Aminoacid Boy video in the campaign page and you will see. If I have to make a spoiler… my next comic will be named “Bubbles and Guts” and it’s going to be craaaazy!!!

Leave a Reply

