Comic Sense With Julia: Poetry Edition

This week I was so impressed with the books I read, I decided to give their reviews a special treatment. Welcome to Comic Sense with Julia: Poetry Edition!! Now, there is a reason I’m not a poet for a living, but this is the most fun I’ve ever had writing a review and I hope it’s fun to read it too. (Look at that, I can’t even turn off the rhyming.) Enjoy!

descender

Descender #3

Publisher: Image

Writer: Jeff Lemire

Artist/Cover Artist: Dustin Nguyen

Price: $2.99

Descender is so very pretty.

It makes me sing a little ditty.

Not only is the art so great,

The words make my heart levitate.

The spaceship is minimalistic,

And dead robots go ballistic.

Get this book in a jiffy.

It’s worth it and it’s real spiffy.

Who knew that metal could make me feel

More warm and fuzzy than a baby seal.

Lemire’s writing and Nguyen’s colors

Put this book above all others.

arcadia

 Arcadia #1

Publisher: Boom! Studios

Writer: Alex Paknadel

Artist: Eric Scott Pfeiffer

Cover Artist: Matt Taylor

Price: $3.99

When my three favorite things collide,

Excitement I just cannot hide.

Technology, great writing, and great art,

Be still my ever beating heart.

This book’s debut blew me away,

It’s clear Arcadia is here to stay.

Are people people when they’re data

And their worlds a pixeled strata?

What becomes of those left behind?

Fighting to stay sane of mind?

This book surely is the real deal.

It makes you think and love and feel.

no mercy

No Mercy #2

Publisher: Image

Writer: Alex De Campi

Artist/Cover Artist: Carla Speed McNeil

Price: $2.99

It was a dark and eerie night.

Coyotes came to snarl and bite.

The scent of blood wafts on the breeze

And Travis is a big ol’ sneeze.

This book is filled with pain and fear

Be prepared to shed a tear.

No Mercy earns my highest praise.

It’s better than most Shakespeare plays.

Lee’s colors are bold and intense

And Campi’s words weave great suspense.

McNeil’s art is A plus plus.

Read this book, it is a must.

wecannever

We Can Never Go Home #2

Publisher: Black Mask Comics

Writers: Matthew Rosenberg and Patrick Kindlon

Artist: Josh Hood

Cover Artist: Michael Walsh

Price: $3.99

Going in I was trepidatious

‘Cause that kid Duncan is so loquacious.

Justifies killing on a whim,

I’m not super fond of him.

But then I thought, “Hey that makes sense!”

These kids are off without their ‘rents.

I’d probably do some dumb stuff too

If I could make my eyes glow blue.

This book has really grown on me.

I’ll wait with hope for issue three.

I like this book, it’s very cool.

If you don’t read it, you’re a fool.

neverboy

Neverboy #3

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Writer: Shaun Simon

Artist: Tyler Jenkins

Cover Artist: Conor Nolan

Price:  $3.99

Sometimes this book feels like a trip,

But one that’s really super hip.

Neverboy is sweet and sad

As imagination works to be a dad.

It’s crazy, yet it’s thought provoking

And feelings of familial love evoking.

Filled with humor and with charm,

You hope that no one comes to harm.

There are layers of emotion

And swirly, whirly color motion.

Simon, Jenkins, and Fitzpatrick

Have made this arc a perfect hat trick.

P.S. If you’d like to talk about these books without the rhymes, send a tweet my way @j_woodchuck. I could talk about these comics all day and I’d be happy to go more in depth on why I loved them!

Leave a Reply

