Comic Sense With Julia: March 25th Edition

So for some reason this week, every single thing I read reminded me of some vaguely related, but not super important other form of media. Enjoy watching me fangirl via random references and check out what I loved this week! Also, can we talk about how cool it is that Curb Stomp #2 and We Can Never Go Home #1 basically have matching covers?! And they’re my favorite color!

wicdiv

The Wicked + The Divine #9

Publisher: Image

Writer: Kieron Gillen

Artist/Cover Artist: Jamie McKelvie

Price: $3.50

“OHMYGOSH THERE’S A NEW WICDIV COMING OUT THIS WEEK. I could be reading it RIGHT NOW. Forget my thesis. Forget everything!”

“Mhm!” *smiles and nods*

Actual conversation between me and my roommate (which bears a striking resemblance to several other conversations between me and my roommate). There are some comics where once a certain number of issues have come out and you still haven’t caught up, you might as well trade wait. The Wicked + The Divine is not one of these series. I binge read the first eight issues earlier this month after hearing about WicDiv non-stop from the comic community. “Could it actually live up to the hype?” I thought as I skeptically leafed through the first issue. The answer is yes. Yes it could. If my response to the first page of issue nine is any indication, (“Oh my good golly, there’s only one circle left empty!! Only one god left to be revealed!!! It’s so excciiitttiinnggg.”) I can safely say I’m TOTALLY hooked. This world of modern day gods putting on shows to share their divinity and godliness with the common people is so fascinating. It’s super fitting for the mythical history of gods being vain and full of spectacle. It also kind of reminds me of when Judas questions Jesus at the beginning of Jesus Christ Superstar, a.k.a. the best musical ever. Are the gods just playing into the whims and fancies of the crowds? Are they letting things get out of hand? The Wicked + The Divine #9 keeps this great series moving forward with lots of new information and an exciting twist! (Ooo!) Read it and be entranced.

misterx

Mister X: Razed #2

Publisher: Dark Horse

Writer/Artist/Cover Artist: Dean R. Motter

Price: $3.99

Mister X: Razed continues to give me nostalgic vibes from my childhood, even though I’m pretty sure that’s not at all its intention. This issue was a weird mish-mash of Where in the World is Carmen San Diego and Despicable Me, not for any tangible reason, (Well, kind of with the Despicable Me part. Missing monuments and whatnot.) but those were the feelings floating around. Issue #2 gives a lot more insight into who Mister X is and the impact he has on those around him. This issue was different from the first one because none of the mysteries were solved. Tricky Dean Motter: pulling us in with super nice, contained mysteries in the first issue and then leaving everything wide open and hanging over a cliff in the second issue! And you can bet the plan worked because I will definitely be reading the rest of this arc and most likely the rest of this series to see how things turn out. Not that I’m really complaining. With robot detectives and zombie jewel thieves, it certainly isn’t a chore reading this book.

curbstomp

Curb Stomp #2

Publisher: Boom! Studios

Writer: Ryan Ferrier

Artist/Cover Artist: Devaki Neogi

Price: $3.99

Ah! Such intensity and bad-assery! Curb Stomp #2 is almost exhausting to read, but in the way that running a marathon or marathoning Gilmore Girls is exhausting. Painful, tearful, and completely satisfying. This issue puts you in the front seat of everyone’s favorite emotional rollercoaster. The Fever is struggling and fighting to keep from falling apart, but dang, they handle it like action film stars. Picture motorcycles, explosions, false accusations, and a cup of regret so full it’s got that little sciency bubbly thing on top that could burst at any moment, sending hot, terrible remorse pouring down the sides. Not only is the story phenom and fast-paced, but the colors remain totally on point. With gorgeous art and heart-wrenching characters, Curb Stomp #2 is a fantastic continuation of a stand out first issue, so pick it up tomorrow!!

past aways

Past Aways #1

Publisher: Dark Horse

Writer: Matt Kindt

Artist/Cover Artist: Scott Kolins

Colorist: Bill Crabtree

Price: $3.99

A giant dragon is stomping on the Parthenon. If that’s not a great beginning to a first issue, I don’t really know what is. (I’m also REALLY glad that they used the word Parthenon in the comic because I spent way too long staring at the first few pages and feeling like an AP Art History failure. “Parthenon or Pantheon?? I can’t remember! Oh god, what have I become.”) Full disclosure, I was a little confused about what was going on for a lot of this comic. Maybe it was because I hadn’t read enough synopses/ promo materials beforehand, but there were all sorts of new-fangled technologies being described, yet it was set in the present. Huh? Partway through I had a lightbulb moment and the comic started to make a whole lot more sense. The futuristic people had traveled back in time to our present to fix things, but then they had gotten stuck here. Ohhh. I liked Past Aways! It wasn’t super ground breaking or earth shattering, (I just realized that those two descriptors literally mean the exact same thing.) but it was definitely an enjoyable read.

jem

Jem and the Holograms #1

Publisher: IDW Publishing

Writer: Kelly Thompson

Artist: Sophie Campbell

Cover Artists: Sophie Campbell and Amy Mebberson

Price: $3.99

To go along with the week of ‘Julia makes random connections to media that really have no significance to the comic she’s reading,’ the whole time I was reading Jem and the Holograms, I had the Josie and the Pussycats theme song stuck in my head. “Neat, sweet, a groovy song! You’re invited, come along!” I mean, it kind of fits, right? So from the cover, I totally thought Jem and the Holograms was going to be super upbeat and empowering, but it was actually pretty sad. It was well written and interesting, but not at all what I was expecting. There were pretty colors and fun technology things, but the story was not what I had hoped it would be. That being said, I’m not taking it off my radar. Depending on how many tips I make the week the next one comes out, it may or may not make my list.

we can never

We Can Never Go Home #1

Publisher: Black Mask Comics

Writers: Matthew Rosenberg and Patrick Kindlon

Artist: Josh Hood

Cover Artists: David Murdock and Michael Walsh

Price: $3.99

Continuing the trend of comics reminding me of other things, We Can Never Go Home was so The Perks of Being a Wallflower. Quirky, moody boy falls for lively, popular girl with a secret. Boy makes girl a mix tape. The difference? The protagonists of this story have superpowers, so there’s that. When I started reading this issue, my friend, who was in full-on procrastination mode and decided to take her antsiness out on me, started asking, ‘Why can’t they go home? What did they do? Did their house burn down? Are they lost? Is that dude a zombie? Or a vampire? Or a dinosaur?’ By the end of the comic, I was confidently able to tell my friend why they could never go home, so it achieved its goals in that sense. However, I didn’t use spirit fingers or jazz hands (and definitely not the spazz hangers combination) while describing it, which is saying something.

Leave a Reply

